The paddling pool and children's playground at Stamford Park.
Stamford Park lies on the boundary between Ashton and Stalybridge.
Ashton under Lyne developed rapidly in the early Victorian period, with rows of terraced houses surrounding the cotton mills. In this period, very little consideration had been given to facilities for leisure. Around the middle of the nineteenth century, many other towns had created municipal parks and gardens for the recreation of their inhabitants. The inhabitants of Ashton had to wait until 1873 to get such a facility.
In 1865, local mill owner Abel Harrison died and his home, Highfield House, and its extensive grounds, on the border between Ashton and Stalybridge, were bought by the two towns. Neighbouring land was donated by the Earl of Stamford and the whole area was landscaped to become Stamford Park.
The pond and landscaped grounds of Stamford Park.
The former mill reservoir known as Chadwick Dams was incorporated into the park in 1891. The reservoir was divided in two by an embankment, with the southern section becoming the present boating lake.
The park now includes tennis courts, putting and bowling greens, a children's playground and paddling pool.
The park also boasts an animal corner with a variety of birds and animals
The boating lake from Darnton Road.
The bird house at Stamford Park.
The paddling pool..
The children's playground.
Return to Previous Page
Visit the Places of Interest index page to find out about more about places to visit around Ashton.